Every year, around 41 million Americans receive a traffic ticket. There are a plethora of reasons why individuals receive traffic tickets including, but not limited to the following:
Some of the above are less serious traffic offenses, while others can result in long-term prison time. Don’t battle a traffic violation or DUI and DWI charge alone. You need a St. Louis attorney on your side who is well-versed in the nuances of traffic and car accident cases. You need an attorney who can highlight flaws within the case and use them to your advantage.
In 2017, there were 10,874 people killed in alcohol-impaired- driving crashes, an average of 1 alcohol-impaired-driving fatality every 48 minutes, according to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. Rightly so, law enforcement is trained to spot the signs of drunk driving. You will get pulled over and arrested if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is over the legal limit. Upon arrest, you may feel that your hands are tied and there is no recourse for your situation.
Hiring a St. Louis attorney from Bruntrager & Billings, ensures your rights are protected. He/she will ask the right questions and will use every tool available to attempt to lower your DUI, DWI or traffic charges or get them dropped. When it comes to challenging the legality of an arrest or the administration of blood-alcohol tests, the trial attorneys at Bruntrager & Billings, have more than 100 years of combined criminal litigation experience.
We help clients avoid criminal convictions, jail time and license suspensions. We defend clients who are facing charges that include:
In Missouri, a driver over the age of 21 whose blood-alcohol content is 0.08 percent or higher may be charged with drunken driving, as may a driver under the age of 21 who is found to have a BAC of 0.02 percent or greater. A driver who refuses to take a breath, blood or urine test may still be charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), driving under the influence (DUI) or other alcohol-related offenses.
Two separate cases arise from drunken driving charges and arrests: an administrative case that deals with the issue of whether the driver will lose his or her license and a criminal proceeding that involves charges of DWI or related offenses.
Generally, the license of a driver whose BAC is over the legal limit or who refuses to take a breath, blood or urine test may be revoked or suspended beginning 15 days after the arrest unless a hearing is requested. Because of the small window of time in which a driver shall request a hearing and contest the suspension or revocation, it is important to obtain representation quickly after an arrest.
As in the administrative process, an individual who has been charged by the state of Missouri with DWI faces a variety of penalties that vary with the individual’s offense history.