An Overview of CBD and Related Laws in Missouri
Consumers across the United States are using products containing cannabidiol, also known as CBD, for a variety of reasons, including pain and anxiety relief. Stores are selling a variety of CBD products, including oils, topicals, and edibles – however, cannabis is not legal for recreational possession in Missouri. As a cannabis product, is selling or possessing CBD products legal in Missouri?
The laws regarding CBD can be confusing, and they vary from state to state with no current federal standard. In 2014, Missouri passed a law that allowed some patients to obtain and possess hemp extracts, which is a cannabis preparation that contains less than .3 percent THC, which is what gives cannabis users a high, and at least five percent CBD. Congress also recently removed hemp extract from the controlled substances list. Patients in Missouri can obtain a registration card to purchase CBD from licensed vendors or from their doctors.
Despite these changes in state and federal laws, people can still face criminal drug possession charges for selling or possessing CBD products. For example, last year, Drug Task Force officers raided a store selling CBD in Park Hills, MO. Reports indicate that the store was either selling products with more than .3 percent of THC, selling CBD products to consumers without a medical card, or both. This is only one example of how police agencies throughout the state are making arrests based on the possession of CBD.
Drug Possession Charges
Despite claims from CBD producers that the substance is legal in all 50 states, people are still facing criminal consequences for CBD possession under certain circumstances. If you are arrested for possessing CBD products without permission or possessing products with too much CBD, you can face charges of drug possession. Cannabis is still a Schedule I drug, and products containing more than the limit of THC will qualify as an illegal substance.
In 2017, Missouri decriminalized the possession of up to 10 grams of cannabis. This means that first-time offenders possessing less than 10 grams would not face the possibility of jail time. However, jail time is still possible for convictions involving more than 10 grams. Even though marijuana use is becoming more and more acceptable across the country, possession can still result in serious penalties in Missouri.
Though Missouri voters passed a medical marijuana law in 2018, the medical program has not yet taken effect. Even if people are using cannabis for serious health issues, this can currently result in arrests and drug possession charges. Recreational cannabis possession is not legal in Missouri.
Contact an Experienced St. Louis Criminal Defense Attorney for More Information
With all of the changing laws regarding CBD and other cannabis products in Missouri, it can be difficult to know what is legal or not. Not knowing the law is not a defense against possession charges, so you should be careful when it comes to possessing CBD or THC products. If you are facing drug charges in St. Louis, you can fight your charges and you should call a criminal defense lawyer at Bruntrager & Billings right away. Call 314-646-0066 or contact us online today.